h1

CFS – My Chronic Fatigue – Can My 40% Improvement be Quantified?

March 27, 2008

Around Christmas time, I was feeling about 25% better.  This meant that I could do one or two things without collapsing altogether.  I was able to take a 20 minute walk, OR do the dishes, OR cook dinner without too much complaint.  This is stark contrast to where I began this journey last September, when I was unable to get dressed or evey comb my hair.

Since then, I’ve changed my diet, added some important supplements – NT Factor and D-Ribose and my sleep has greatly improved.  Indulgences of Christmas took me several weeks to get over –   re-dieting and paying greater attention to my goals.   In February and March, I’ve kept up with my supplements and gone a little wayward on my diet due to wildly flucuating PMS, but in general I’ve maintained my program. 

About 2 weeks ago, I took a 2.5 mile hike!  If that doesn’t scream out 40% better, I don’t what ;).   This past weekend was a Family Easter Party Event and I had fun!  Foremost in my mind was the comparison to my family’s christmas party where I was able to stand and talk and participate emotionally.  But after that party was over – I felt the need to collapse and recover.   This time, for the Easter party, I had more fun – easily standing and engaging in conversation (CFS sufferers find conversation very difficult and energy consuming).  I noted to my family that I had showered, dressed, gone to the grocery store, played at the party and still felt good!   I was sure tired when I got home, but it felt like a supreme accomplishment.    I’m pretty sure that the preparation for the Christmas Party required taking my shower the day before and laying out my clothes in advance to save on energy costs 😉

So there you have it, I can do Something, or Two Things, not including the energy expended for showering and getting dressed!  I can participate emotionally and converse and enjoy small portions of life without getting immediately overloaded. 

Just this past week, I went through another bout of PMS, and sugar was in my house once again – Arrgghh! it’s like a sickness that stuff!  Anyway, I’m back on the program again and paying attention to non-processed foods, extra veggies and salads and seriously considering sauerkraut juice ‘therapy’ a.k.a. flingin’ it up my butt once again.   It’s so weird…  when I have PMS I am just not in my right mind and I simply cannot control that sugary stuff –  I’ve conquered that in the past, but MAN I struggle.   I know now that I have to prepare for the onslaught of PMS insanity a week in advance and be deadset on not screwing up! (Stevia helps with this, and I’m out, let’s get some!)

I’m taking walks several times a week, usually for about 30 minutes, but haven’t crossed that magnificent 2.5 mile threshold again…. but I’m a’gonna!   I’ve noted previously in my blog that I’m starting Colonix Colon Cleansing again in April – that’s still gonna happen too!

One comment

  1. I am so pleased for you 🙂

    I have to admit when I read last week about your improvement I had that frowny suspicious face thinking “is this a trick?”.

    It’s nothing personal! No no no! I think there are so many promises of “cures” and miracles that it’s easy to grow weary and suspicious.

    I am ashamed of myself for not squealing with excitement for you first off – but I got there quite quickly. After all – yours is no miracle cure. You’ve worked hard to research and make changes and it’s working for you. And that is without a doubt utterly fantastic!

    So I’m opening up my mind again … cautiously 🙂

    Long may your improvement continue and bloom!



Leave a Reply

