h1

Chronic Fatigue and Post Holiday Recovery

January 28, 2008

Christmas came and everything was a wild flurry of indulgent activities.  I was feeling better and it showed.  I wrote earlier in December that I was able to participate in life a little more.  My family’s Christmas Party was the highlight of my energies – I actually had ‘Fun’.  That word describes an experience that has eluded me for years.  While I was at my family’s gathering, it occurred to me that I was standing and talking, smiling and joking.  Not one thought of needing to sit down!  Like a miracle.

 I did have to spend the next day recovering – but nothing like I used to.  I just needed to spend the day relaxing because I was tired.  Previously this recovery day would have made me feel like I was 1000 pounds of sludge – every tiny movement painful and weighted from the fatigue. 

But as other family and friend visitations continued into January, all of my various partyfood indulgences began to take their toll.  By January 10th, I was feeling much more tired, and back to a non-functioning mode of living again.  Once again, my diet became the culprit and focus of my malaise.  I knew had to clean up my act and pay careful attention to restricting my foods to veggies and meat.  It has taken me these 3-4 weeks of re-dieting to get back to where I was in terms of energy and lessened fatigue symptoms.  For a couple of weeks there, I wasn’t even sure I could get back – but I did! Yay!

This was the first time I’ve gone wayward on my diet since September – wholly crackamoni did I pay for my mistakes.  I won’t do that again.

Two things that I’ve noticed during this holiday recovery period:  taking my NT Factor diligently didn’t prevent or dissuade the CFS reactions I received from my naughty diet.  But, increasing my D-Ribose DID help my muscle pain.  This supplement always seems to have results the next day, if not within hours.  I have to be careful taking the d-ribose though, if I take it as recommended (1 teaspoons 3 times a day), I get wired and can’t sleep.  It’s a natural sugar, after all.  When my diet is good and I’m feeling better like I do now, I only take 1tsp a day.

Another thing that has really made a huge difference in my sense of well being is jamaican blue mountain coffee – quite specifically this bean.  I don’t know why it offers such a supreme sense of “feelin’ alright”, sometimes I think they must grow it next to the ganja, lol.  Sure, you might say it’s just the caffeine, but it’s not.  I’ve tried tons of other coffees, and I’ve had all kinds of caffeine buzzes, but this coffee literally makes all of me feel Good.  Expensive as hell though.  But it’s still cheaper than doctors and new fangled drugs.

What’s weird about the jamaican coffee (or perhaps it’s my entire dietary changes in conjunction, I’m not sure) is that not only does it make me feel good during the day – charging me up and letting me accomplish things; I am absolutely convinced it’s the thing that’s helping me sleep better too.  My theory:  the blue mountain coffee stimulates my body enough to make me feel better, while at the same time wearing me out (energy consumption) so at night I just fall asleep – boom! like a felled tree.  It’s strange and yet a very happy thing.  Or, it could be that the coffee is somehow furthering the ATP enhancement that the NT Factor promotes on a cellular level. 

Anyway, I’m back to where I was just then in December and I’m still improving, losing weight, looking forward and being happy….  Thinking about doing another round of colon cleansing to get even further ahead on this journey.  I’ll keep ya posted…


Visit my newest! Spiderwick Chronicles Movie Toys and Kung Fu Panda Toys

4 comments

  1. I’m so glad you were able to get back to where you were before! That’s amazing. We are seriously thinking about the diet change… my partner is not addicted to sugar, but we do eat a fair amount of grains and are vegetarian. It would be quite a shift. But it sounds like it’s working so well for you… I’m so glad. Thank you for posting this update and I will be checking often to see how you are doing! Yay!!


  2. It must be a good feeling that you have some control over your wellness. I hopt it will continue and you will get better and better. 🙂


  3. I’m so proud of you…to get back something you lost through indulgence…now THAT”S discipline!


  4. I have some idea of what you’re going through – except in my case it’s depression. There are many similarities. Some people get insomnia, I have the opposite. Just can’t get enough sleep. Diet is a factor, I know, but I just can’t keep off the carbs…

    Well done you and congrats on the improvement. Hang in there :o)



Leave a Reply

